Jakubowski joins RSTAC

Eric Jakubowski headshotEric Jakubowski, Chief Commercial Officer of Anacostia Rail Holdings, and Donald Itzkoff, Chief Policy Officer for Patriot Rail Company LLC, were selected to join the Railroad-Shipper Transportation Advisory Council (“RSTAC”), following a nomination process to fill two small railroad representative vacancies.

The ICC Termination Act of 1995 established RSTAC, which focuses on issues of importance to small shippers and small railroads, including railcar supply, rates, competition and procedures for addressing claims. Its members provide advice on regulatory, policy and legislative matters to the STB, the Secretary of Transportation, the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, and the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

Jakubowski and Itzkoff were selected following a nomination process to fill two small railroad representative vacancies left by RSTAC Chairman Nate Asplund, President of Columbia Strategic Consulting Group, LLC, and Lawrence C. Malski, President of Pennsylvania Northeast Regional Railroad Authority. Each RSTAC member is appointed for a three-year term, and may serve for up to two consecutive terms. Representative Mathew Brainerd, Chairman of Brainerd Chemical, Inc., is now Chairman of RSTAC.

Jakubowski, Anacostia’s Chief Commercial Officer, has 35 years of railroading experience, from operations to government affairs and strategic planning.

“Both Eric and Donald have extensive experience in matters of concern to the Board,” said Marty Oberman, Chairman of the STB, who selects RSTAC members. “I appreciate Eric’s focus on advancing technology and improving business practices, as well as his operational experience. Donald is uniquely familiar with Board policy, as someone who helped formulate and implement the Interstate Commerce Commission Termination Act of 1995. I welcome Eric and Donald to RSTAC and I’m sure that all RSTAC members look forward to working with them on ensuring effective and efficient interstate rail transportation.”

RSTAC’s 15 appointed members comprise senior officials representing large and small shippers, and large and small railroads. According to STB, nine are voting members; at least four must be representatives of small shippers, and at least four must be representatives of Class II or III railroads. Of the remaining six, three represent Class I railroads and three represent large shipper organizations; they serve in a nonvoting, advisory capacity, but may participate in RSTAC deliberations. The Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation and the five STB members serve as ex officio members.

Railway Age, Marybeth Luczak