Three Anacostia affiliates win ASLRRA Jake Awards for safety – 2019

The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) announced three Anacostia affiliates as winners of the prestigious Jake or Jake with Distinction safety awards for strong safety performance in 2019.

ASLRRA member railroads that perform better than the Class II and III railroad industry average for injury frequency rate, as reported by the FRA during the calendar year, receive the “Jake” safety award.  Member railroads that sustain zero injuries during the calendar year are honored with the “Jake with Distinction” safety award. 

The awards are named for Lowell “Jake” Jacobson, Copper Bain Railway’s president and chief operating officer who established the honor in 1993 to recognize the safety accomplishments of Class II and III railroads. 

The following Anacostia Affiliates will receive this honor. 

Jake with Distinction – Safety Award 

  • Louisville & Indiana Railroad Company
  • Northern Lines Railway, LLC (7th year in a row)

Jake – Safety Award

  • Chicago South Shore & South Bend Railroad Company (6th year in a row)